A March 2008 cumulative daylight saving time (DST) update is available for Windows Mobile-based devices

With Australia again changing the start of daylight saving again this year there’s yet another series of patches to run. Windows Update seems to have delivered all the patches without a hitch so that come Sunday October 5 all my servers and desktop Operating Systems seemed to change without a hitch but my phone didn’t. I had to run the patch KB950885 – A March 2008 cumulative daylight saving time (DST) update is available for Windows Mobile-based devices here manually to correct the time on it. This should make tomorrow easier as due to the phone running an hour early, it meant that I got up at 4.30 this morning instead of 5.30, Ouch.

I’m going to investigate why no updates have ever been delivered through Windows Update on my phone. My guess is it’s related to 3’s custom Windows Mobile build.

One Response to “A March 2008 cumulative daylight saving time (DST) update is available for Windows Mobile-based devices”

  1. Steven Haigh Says:

    This is damn annoying for me too… I’ve installed the March 2008 patch, however some custom code I use on the device logs things 1 hour in the past.

    Using VB.Net, The following code shows false, even though we are in DST 😐

    Dim localZone As TimeZone = TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone
    If localZone.IsDaylightSavingTime(Now) Then
    MessageBox.Show(“IsDaylightSavingTime = true”)
    Else
    MessageBox.Show(“IsDaylightSavingTime = false”)
    End If

    This is being a pain in the butt for me, and I haven’t managed to find a fix yet 😐


Leave a Reply

