Finally Time to Blog again

How time flies, finally got a chance to get back to my blog this evening and realised it’s been nearly 3 months since my last post.Well I’ve been working in a startup so it’s been a really interesting experience being employee number 1. I can’t say too much about what we’ve been doing so far except to say where in the Information worker space. It’s also a big change where I now have an interest in the company rather than just an employee on a salary.

I’ve just been on a bit of a spending spree with some new work tools. I got a new laptop, was going to go the old faithful Dell D830 but decided to take a step up and got a Precision M4300. I’ve had it for around 3 weeks now and I’m really impressed with it. I’m running Vista 64 bit on it and it’s running like a dream. I’m happy to report that there’s been no issues at all with it.

I also decided to get a new toy, a Fujitsu U-1010 UMPC tablet. I was lucky that mln had them as a clearance item so I got it for less than AU $1000. So far I’m real impressed with it. Its tiny with only a 5.6″ screen. I’ve basically been using ink on it 90% of the time and I must say I’m stunned that it can actually decifer my handwriting (trust me it’s really bad). In fact I’m bogging this on it right now and the user experience is great. Although it does have a keyboard and a joystick mouse on it they aren’t great. They are workable but the ink is the way to go with it. My theory in getting it was to see how much I use it and in 2 weeks, it’s been getting a real workout. It was a relatively inexpensive way to evaluate whether a tablet was for me, so far yes it is. I did investigate getting a single tablet PC work horse but really found that I was always going to need a proper development laptop, so I decided that a small unit would be the answer.

Anyway back to doing some move work off the never ending task list stay tuned for interesting news here once I can start revealing some of the juicy stuff.

Leave a Reply

