Installing Telerik MOSS Editor

I’ve been working for a client where they have decided to implement the Telerik MOSS RadEditor. The editor definitely makes some great advancements against the default editor that comes out of the box with Sharepoint. Probably in my rush to get this installed and operation I missed some steps, so I thought I’d run through some of my experiences in getting this working.

  1. Download and install the ASP.Net Ajax Extensions from here this will need to be installed on all front end servers, although I’d recommend doing this on all servers in a farm in case there’s a need to redeploy servers later.
  2. Enable Ajax on all the Sharepoint front end servers. Again I’d recommend doing this to all servers. The instructions can be found on Mike Ammerlaan’s blog, here. A word of warning here these steps are pretty messy, and involve manually editing the web.config in several places. I’d strongly recommend that there is a backup copy of the web.config made before you start changing this file so that you can easily roll back in case something goes wrong, especially in production environments. You may also want to consider writing a Nant or MSBuild script to repeat these steps, especially if you are deploying into a large farm environment.
  3. Once the first 2 steps are completed the rest of the installation is pretty straight forward by adding the solution to the server in your farm which contains Central Admin. Simply follow the steps on Telerik’s site here.
  4. One last step that isn’t documented is to do an IISRESET following the deployment of the solution. Not sure exactly why but I couldn’t get it working without this magic last step.
3 Responses to “Installing Telerik MOSS Editor”

  1. Krishnakanth Says:

    I installed RAD for ASP.Net
    I did,’t understand how to enhance those rad features to my Sharepoint site. do i need to install it again

  2. Krishnakanth Says:

    Am using asp.net usercontrols as webparts in my sharepoint aspx pages


Leave a Reply

