Fixing DCOM Issues after MOSS SP1 Installation

I’ve recently done a couple of MOSS installations on clients sites, both of which have been used SP1. As usual after each installation and configuration I do my testing while checking the event long. You will notice there are several DCOM Errors that occur in the event log, similar to this one.

The application-specific permission settings do not grant Local Activation permission
for the COM Server application with CLSID
{XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX}
 to the user DOMAIN\Username SID (S-X-X-XX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXXX).
This security permission can be modified using the Component Services administrative tool.

From feedback I’d gotten from a few people I was expecting, and a few months ago I’d found a quick fix related to the “IIS_WAMREG” component. Simply after the install is done by going to Administrative Tools / Component Services, then expand Component Services / Computers / My Computer / DCOM Config. Scroll down until you find “IIS_WAMREG“, then right click and select “Properties” then Select the “Security“. Ensure the account that your MOSS service and the SQL Identity for MOSS are in here and they have “Local Activation” and “Local Launch” permissions (I also think that they may need Remote if you are running in other Farm configurations, but I haven’t come across these but if you find this required please leave a comment here). I found today that you also have to make the same change to the “OSearch” component.

I thought I’d throw in a hint on exactly how to work out which is the component is annoying you. Each of the Component’s is referred to as a GUID, so all you need to do is open regedit (Start -> Run -> Regedit) and then from the root of the tree search for the GUID of the issue that’s appearing in Event Log. Once the search finds your GUID you should see an application name in the right hand pane. Simply follow the steps above for the particular Component name and you should quickly resolve the DCOM issues that keep appearing in the event log.

Once I’ve made these changes I usually reboot, I’m not 100% whether the reboot is required but I guess it doesn’t hurt, at worst it should confirm that your MOSS Box will come up after a component change.

Leave a Reply

