70-542 – MCTS MOSS Application Development Completed

With the standard January lull happening at the moment I thought I’d give myself a bit of a jumpstart to the year and bring forward sitting the 70-542 – MCTS Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 – Application Development exam. Overall the exam was easy although there were a couple of challenging bits in it. Overall I was happy with how I went. This exam was also a milestone as know I’ve finished everything I’d planned to do. Not sure whether I’ll do any more in the short term I think I’ll now hold off and wait and see what the upgrade paths are going to be to the 2008 versions of Visual Studio and SQL Server.

My goals over the next few weeks are investigating MOSS SP1 and Microsoft Search. I also want to see how MOSS, VS 2008 and the 3.5 Framework play together, with the aim of cutting over exclusively. Stay tuned there should be some interesting stuff popping up here.

2 Responses to “70-542 – MCTS MOSS Application Development Completed”

  1. vamsi Says:

    How did you prepared for exam.. i mean any material or any book?

  2. Chris Armstrong Says:

    I used a pretty varied combination of online material, I think I pretty much know the SDK’s off by heart now. Another couple of great resources were the books “Inside Microsoft Sharepoint Services 3.0” by Ted Pattison & Daniel Larson and “Inside Microsoft Office Sharepoint Server 2007” by Patrick Tisseghem.

    Probably the best resource I found was a VM with MOSS installed, with Undo disk and just churned away at experimenting with stuff.


Leave a Reply

